Book Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

27362503

Title: It Ends With Us

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publication Date: August 22, 2016

Publisher: Atria Books

Pages: 384

Edition: Kindle

Blurb:

Sometimes it is the one who loves you who hurts you the most.

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. Combining a captivating romance with a cast of all-too-human characters, It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

Review:

“I want to be like you when I grow up.”

I fell in love with the first chapter.

It was my first time reading one of Colleen Hoover’s works (embarrassing, I know, considering how much I hear good reviews of her works!) and I definitely loved it! Now my upcoming days will definitely be spent devouring all of Colleen Hoover’s books!

Reading the first several chapters, my heart was filled with this inexplicable evangelical zeal but as I read further on, my heart shattered, mended, and shattered all over again.

Holy shit, I wasn’t prepared enough. The tremendous amount of feels feasted on my heart and soul. It Ends With Us is absolutely one of the most powerful, inspiring, raw, beautiful and brutally honest books of 2016 and I haven’t got a good cry since reading The Fault In Our Stars by John Green! Colleen Hoover skillfully weaves the story into a heart-gripping novel with a beautiful and powerful message for all women. Every girl should read it, heck, even guys should read it. Correction- EVERYONE SHOULD READ IT.

This book has serious extremely powerful and smart message and it is not what you expect it to be, don’t let the lovely book cover fool you. It’s not all black and white, and the characters are more complex-perfectly flawed in their own way that made this book way more emotional.

There were parts and moments in the book that had me stop reading and bite my lip and squeal and laugh or sigh or close my eyes and just soak up all that butterflies-in-my-stomach goodness.

Lily Bloom is caring, sarcastic wise, strong and independent young woman whom I’m inspired to since chapter one. She is one of the most incredible heroine I’ve ever met and I love reading the parts where Lily has thought-provoking, introspective, philosophical, quirky conversations with Ryle.

At the beginning, how they interact obviously screams that they are both attracted to each other. The problem? They both want different things in life. He wanted to be the best neurosurgeon and he specializes in one-night stands; no feelings, no commitment, while she’s a success-driven woman and is on her quest for her Holy Grail- that it to meet a man who fits her standards.

No matter their differences, things seemed perfectly alright between until a ghost straight out of her past appears out of the blue; Atlas Corrigan. Her protector, her soul mate, first love.

On more than one moment while reading this book, I wished Ryle wouldn’t be who he was going to be because I’ve fallen in love with him in those first several chapters just as Lily had fallen in love with him. In the end, Lily makes her decision-a meaningful decision that came with great pain, that ended everything. Her words stabbed me like a knife through my heart and left scars in its wake. I cried but I also smiled that she made the right choice in the end even if it meant hurting one’s self in the process. The ending totally wrecked my heart, in a good way.

It Ends With Us is such an inspiring, heavy, heartfelt and quotable book. It made me believe that there were such things as finding true love at a wrong time. It made me realize that there are no bad people, just people who make bad decisions. That it takes only a moment -be it four hours or five minutes or even ten seconds, to ruin everything. You can never take those moements again. That some risks aren’t worth the take.

A 10/10 for me.

Book Links:

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27362503-it-ends-with-us

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Ends-Us-Novel-Colleen-Hoover/dp/1501110365

Simon and Schuster: http://www.simonandschuster.com.au/books/It-Ends-With-Us/Colleen-Hoover/9781471156267

Colleen Hoover’s website: https://colleenhoover.com/it-ends-with-us/

Visit Colleen Hoover on her website: https://colleenhoover.com

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

